more from
Fabrique Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €9 EUR  or more


  • Limited Edition 12" Vinyl LP
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Tracklist LP:

    Side A
    A1. Metamorphosis (feat. Finley Quaye)
    A2. A Sea Change (feat. Mira Lu Kovacs)

    Side B
    B1. Mutability (feat. Aurelia Thierree)

    Includes unlimited streaming of M via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



Christopher Chaplin - M

A work of art, situated between experimental electronic music and avant-garde. The crowning glory of an album trilogy with an over-theme that couldn't fit better into our time – change and transformation.

Following the celebrated solo albums "Je suis le Ténébreux" (2016) and "Paradise Lost" (2018) by Christopher James Chaplin, the London-based avant-garde musician and composer will release his third solo album "M" on June 19, 2020. It's an epic and multi-layered composition for which Chaplin once again draws on age-old texts, whose power of content is timeless. For this special album project, he once more brought top-class guest artists into his studio: BRIT Award winner Finley Quaye, the exceptional Austrian musician and songwriter Mira Lu Kovacs and acclaimed artist and performer Aurelia Thierree.

Christopher Chaplin: “The M album is about change. The letter "M" refers to the Hebrew letter Mem, which, in the alphabet of Kabbalah, points to the origin of many words such as: mother, womb, birth, water, flood, death; and through its gematria (the number 4), Mem is linked to quarantine and transformation. The album consists of three tracks containing verses taken from three different poems: Metamorphosis by Ovid, Full Fathom Five by Shakespeare, and Mutability by Shelley."

"I've been really fortunate, during the writing of this album, to have met Finley Quaye. It resulted in him contributing so invaluably to the track Metamorphosis. I've also been thrilled to feature the wonderful singing voice of Mira Lu Kovacs in the track A Sea Change as well as having Carl Michael von Hausswolff's permission to use a sample from his sonic extraction of the HIV virus DNA chain. In the third and final track, Mutability, I am joined by Aurelia Thierree in speaking some lines from Percy Shelley's poem of the same title. Its last line of that poem was the catalyst for this whole M album: "Nought may endure but Mutability.”


released June 19, 2020

All tracks written, arranged and produced by Christopher Chaplin.
Track 1: vocals by Finley Quaye, lyrics by Ovid.
Track 2: vocals by Mira Lu Kovacs, lyrics by Shakespeare. Including a sample by Carl Michael von Hausswolff
Track 3: vocals by Aurelia Thierree, lyrics by Percy Bysshe Shelley.
Mastered by Nick Watson at Fluid Mastering, London.
Published by Edition Fabrique.

Cover photography by eclect.lab. Cover design by
© 2020 Fabrique Records.


all rights reserved



Christopher Chaplin London, UK

British avant-garde composer and experimental music artist.

contact / help

Contact Christopher Chaplin

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Christopher Chaplin, you may also like: